Connecticut Preparedness 

A community of Connecticut neighbors discussing topics important for preparedness and self-reliance.

Anything to do with hunting, post pictures of your trophy, recipes for cooking or tips for fellow hunters.
Hey all,

So from my research, it appears i HAVE to take the hunting class from the state and no companies can offer it for a profit, is that correct? because the next 2 classes are already full and i really want to get out for upcoming season.

The NRA pistol license course, for example, is offered at many people as long as it is an approved curriculum. Is this not so with hunting class?

Is there any way around this so that i can get out there this season?

Also, i dont understand the A season vs B season. one has a lottery and one doesnt. which is better? can i hunt with a rifle?

I am new to hunting and would be very appreciative if you kind folk could answer these questions for me.

Thanks in advance.
By JohnFH
I'll see what I can do;
The State hunter safety course is the only one there is, you have to watch the schedule and jump in when a class gets posted.

The only way around that is to take the hunting class in another state, a state hunting class is good for all 50 states, one of the better things they have done.

We instructors are all volunteers and do classes as time permits.

I plan on doing a class in Aug, it will be posted on the web once I firm up the date.

You can hunt with 22 rifle/pistol, bow or shotgun only on state land, on private land over 10 acres, you can use a rifle 6mm or larger or a pistol .357 6"barrel or larger, or a shotgun or a bow.

Lottery is for deer, there is archery season, shot gun season A, shot gun season B, and muzzleloader season.

Some state land limits the number of hunters, requiring the lottery for specific properties. You should download the hunting guide from the state website, it has all of the state land open to hunting and the seasons for each property.
By sigequinox